Chapman’s Can Am Motorsports Park Congratulates 2014 Track Champions and Thanks Everyone for Their Support during 2014 Season


With the 2014 racing season wrapped up at the big track at Chapman’s Can Am Motorsports Park, Tiger Chapman, along with track General Manager Alana Moncrieff would like to take the opportunity to thank all of the drivers, race teams, officials, staff, and the race fans for their continued support throughout the season.

Chapman’s Can Am Motorsports Park would also like to offer our congratulations to our 2014 Track Champions.  Josh VanBrocklin was the Sportsman champion at Can Am in 2014 with 4 feature wins, 8 top five finishes, and 10 top ten finishes in 11 event this season.  VanBrocklin won the title by 16 points over Taylor Caprara, with Luke Whitteker, Nick Webb and Rick McCready rounding out the top five positions.

Shawn Kirby had a great season in the Pro Street division, earning his first Can Am track championship title.  Kirby posted 4 wins on the season, and also collected 10 top five finishes and was inside the top 10 in all 11 events entered this season.  Kirby won the title by 80 points over second place Rob Martin while Mike Durham, Mike White and David Rogers completed the top five.

For the second year in a row, Charlie Sandercock won the Pro Late Model Track title, but it came down to the final night as Phil Potts gave Sandercock all he could handle throughout the season.  Charlie posted five wins on the season along with 7 top five finishes and was in the top 10 during all 9 events in 2014.  Potts finished the season in second place, trailing Sandercock by just 17 points.  Billy Eisele, Mike Trapp and Caley Weese rounded out the top five.

The most dominant car all season in any division was in our Thunder Stock class as Phil Desormeau II captured the 2014 championship with 8 feature wins in 10 starts.  He also finished in the top five in both races that he didn’t win.

In the Novice Sportsman Class it was a battle of the Gill Brothers all season long as older brother Riley topped the field with 5 feature wins in 8 events.  Brady Gill finished the season in second overall in the division with a pair of wins.  Amy Holland, Haiden Burdick and Hunter Schwander rounded out the top five.

Before we officially wrap up the 2014 racing season at Can Am, we still have one more event on the schedule as the New York DIRT Kart Series invades Chapman’s Can Am Motorsports Park on Saturday, September 27th.  Over 130 Karts are expected to be on hand for this event.  Event details can be found on the Can Am website listed below.

For more information regarding Chapman’s Can-Am Motorsports Park, including sponsorship and ticket information, as well as VIP Tower Rooms please visit our website at or contact the track office at (646) 416-3585.

No Comments

Comments are closed.